What Is a Gluten-Free Diet?
Before tackling the gluten-free diet, let's get to know our culprit.
Gluten is a specific type of protein, but one you won't find in meat or eggs.
Instead gluten is found in wheat, rye, and barley. Going gluten-free means
avoiding these grains. A gluten-free diet is essential for most people with
gluten allergies or celiac disease, a condition which causes intestinal damage
when gluten is eaten.
Gluten 'Red Flags'
People on a
gluten-free diet need a sharp eye for labels. Some ingredient red flags are
obvious, like wheat, wheat gluten, barley, or rye. But some foods have
"stealth" gluten. Two terms to watch for are malt (which is made from
barley) and hydrolysed vegetable protein (it often contains wheat). And while
oats do not contain gluten, they may also increase symptoms, including
abdominal pain, bloating, and diarrhoea.
Say Bye-Bye to Bread
Perhaps the
most difficult step in a gluten-free diet is bidding farewell to bread as you
know it -- that includes white, wheat, marble, and rye. Also off limits are
bagels, muffins, croissants, hamburger buns, scones -- you get the idea. Yes,
even pizza. But don't despair. There are alternatives.
You Have Gluten-Free Bread Choices
Many health foods stores and some major supermarkets now carry
gluten-free products, including an assortment of breads. These are often made
with rice or potato flour instead of wheat products. Just check the label to
make sure it says "100% gluten-free."
Lots of Cereals Have Gluten
Traditional breakfast cereals are another casualty for people on a
gluten-free diet. Cream of Wheat is obviously out, but so are many other favourites.
Cheerios contains wheat starch, while Frosted Flakes uses malt flavouring. Read
the list of ingredients and avoid any cereal containing wheat, barley, rye, or
malt.
Enjoy Corn and Rice Cereals
Corn and rice-based cereals are good breakfast alternatives, but it's
crucial to read labels carefully, as some may also contain malt. You may want
to check your supermarket's health-food section for gluten-free products.
Enjoy Corn and Rice Cereals
Corn and rice-based cereals are good breakfast alternatives, but it's
crucial to read labels carefully, as some may also contain malt. You may want
to check your supermarket's health-food section for gluten-free products.
Pasta
It's true, no matter what its shape or name, most pasta is made out of wheat.
So you'll need to avoid spaghetti, macaroni, shells, and spirals when you're on
a gluten-free diet.
Dig in to Rice and Potatoes
On a gluten-free diet? Say hello to filling, flexible rice and potatoes.
You can top them with just about anything, mix them into meals, or enjoy them
on their own. Still mourning the loss of your favorite pasta? Here's a secret:
When you're really craving a bowl of spaghetti, it is possible
to find gluten-free pasta -- just think rice noodles.
Avoid Most Cookies and Cakes
While a gluten-free diet won't contain most traditional cakes, pies,
cookies, and other celebratory treats -- which are loaded with wheat flour --
there are still lots of ways to satisfy your sweet tooth.
0 comments :
Post a Comment